The End of the Beginning

My summer in Kasuva, Tamil Nadu India has come to an end. I feel like time has completely flown by since I’ve been here, and yet I have so many new memories and experiences to look back on that could easily fill up a year. I have loved immersing myself into this place and becoming friends with the children, teachers, kitchen staff, watchmen, and even dogs. I’ve made so many new and surprising friends that I am dreading to say goodbye to. Most importantly, though, I learned a lot about myself and the world. There are still kids out there that spend their free time drawing and riding their bikes around to neighboring villages to see friends and it’s been so refreshing to see. We haven’t had tv all summer except for the few weekend nights we stayed in a hotel and caught a World Cup game and that has been a really nice change, though I do miss CNN. My life has been so simple, challenging, and beautiful here and I am so grateful to these people for opening up to me.

These are just a few of the countless people and things that touched my heart these past few months.

.IMG_2056

Our village.

Our village.

Mangos. Enough said.

Mangos. Enough said.

My friend, Tiger. The best guard dog I've ever seen.

My friend, Tiger. The best guard dog I’ve ever seen.

032

My tenth standard English class. The woman in the blue is Shakti Miss, the official class teacher. She is 22 and such a beautiful person.

My tenth standard English class. The women in the blue is Shakti Miss, the official class teacher. She is 22 and such a beautiful person.

187

My sister and future archaeologist.

458 127 442 074 - Copy (2)

Kosi Miss, a care taker and also our acca (big sister)

Kosi Miss, a care taker and also our acca (big sister)

Kumar. His message for me every time he saw me was "Be careful, sister".

Kumar. His message for me every time he saw me was “Be careful, sister”.

Kati, the sweetest boy who was constantly sick

Kati, the sweetest boy who was constantly sick

071 (2) 057 (2)

Deva and Subash, two of the smartest beings I've ever met

Deva and Subash, two of the smartest kids I’ve ever met. They will do great, great things.

154

Sai, my tongachi (little sister)

Sai, my tongachi (little sister)

506 200

Leave a Reply

