Small World

Last weekend was another mini excursion around the beautiful Volta region of Ghana. We visited the Wli Waterfalls again, and it was an entirely different experience in the rain. I am so happy we went again, but boy did that water come down hard! And apparently it was meant to be because our global scholars group ran into Cole, Taylor, and Ellen who are volunteering with HCDP. So together we decided to hike Mount Afajato the next day. I definitely underestimated the 885 meter hike…can you say out of shape? Our group was not the smartest because we did not think to bring water but the view at the top was worth the dizziness and gasping for air. From the top of the mountain you could see neighboring Togo, surrounding villages, and the Volta River. And don’t worry we got plenty of global scholar pictures! After the hike, their directors were kind enough to invite us to lunch, the Banku (typical Ghanian dish) was the most delicious I have had. It was so nice to hear about HCDP’s mission and all the work they are doing to develop and sustain Ghana. It is such a friendly country and has so many organizations working for a greater good. I cannot believe that my trip is coming to an end. The thought of saying goodbye (for now) to all the children and wonderful people I’ve meet throughout Ghana breaks my heart. Especially Josephine, who I have decided to make the centerpiece of my capstone. Throughout my time here I have realized the inferiority of women of all ages in the village. And because Josephine is a teenager, and the future of Tafi Atome, I am documenting and observing her day to day life with the hopes that our groups women empowerment project will positively effect her in the future. Also, the last two weeks Tafi Atome has been a little crowded. There were 27 volunteers from the International School of Paris. ISP and Compassionate Journeys have a 5 year contract to develop and sustain the community. This years project was to actually put up the home for rescued child slaves. Working with them has been exciting and a learning experience. After the Edge training this past semester I find myself comparing and contrasting volunteer experiences. I truly believe that the length of time someone spends volunteering is very important. The fact that ISP was only here for two weeks boggles my mind. Granted they put up a house in that time, I could not imagine being here for less than two months. In our course we learned not to have expectations because things do not always go as planned and with this our group was able to achieve things we never thought possible, like the women’s empowerment group.

Leave a Reply

