Where did the time go?

It’s finally starting to hit me that I only have about 2 weeks left here in Huaraz. Though I don’t leave Peru until August 3rd, the kids have vacations from school starting the last week of July, so that is when I’m going to travel to visit Cusco and Machu Picchu. Ive seen so many volunteers come and go, and I don’t want to have to be the one the kids are saying goodbye to! In the mean time, I’m definitely going to make the most of my last few weeks here.
Over the weekend, the other volunteers and I went horseback rising on the Cordillera Negra on Saturday, and then rock claiming at Hatun Machay. Both were absolutely amazing and things I never expected to do while I was here!
This past week, we started the exercise project with the kids. This has been a few weeks coming, since we first had to translate the directions from German to English and Spanish and then set up a schedule. We did spinal exercises with the kids first on Tuesday, and it went really well! They are supposed to help the older kids’ posture and flexibility, and I didn’t even realize how much some of them needed it until we did the exercises. We also did core and coordination later in the week, so I’m hoping we can keep the set schedule well.
This was not a good week health wise for the kids, since we found out that Mily broke her leg at home! She’s one of the youngest and so active, so I hate that she won’t be able to do much for a while. We’re planning to visit her once she’s home from the hospital, which I really hope will be soon. Another accident happened on Friday, when Yesenia tripped and hit her head on the wall. She had to get stitches at the hospital, but was such a trouper and kept telling us it didn’t even hurt. Yadira also hasn’t been here much recently, so I really hope that she isn’t sick since she seems to be a lot of the time.
It’s amazing how differently some of the kids work. Gina is almost impossible to get to focus and would rather guess an answer ten times than try to figure out the problem. On the other hand, Salvador always works quietly no matter how much work he has, and loves to make clocks out of paper once he’s done. I worked with both of them last week, and though Gina can be difficult, it’s great when she finally understands.
I finally finished painting the school logo on Thursday and I’m really hoping to start a mural on the side wall soon! We want to get the kids involved with it and have them make flower petals out of all of their hand prints.
On Friday, the kids performed their play Los Colores! It was adorable seeing them all excited to perform and we filmed it so we can show them next week. They had hand made costumes and everything and read their lines really well.
It was really different not spending the 4th of July in the US, but still really fun! The other American volunteers and I cooked a huge dinner and even got a thumbs up from our friend Willy, the chef. I can’t wait to see what else we’ll do this week!

Leave a Reply

