Making babies cry like its our job

It seems like just when we start fitting in, we make a baby cry. It’s happened many many times now where all the kids swarm us and yell “yevo yevo”(white man), but there are one or two very young toddlers that just burst into tears at the sight of us. The mothers laugh and say it’s because they’ve never seen a white person. I mean it clearly makes sense that they would be so scared of something they have never seen before. Even the monkey in the town is scared to death of us. Whenever we try to pick him up or hold him he leans away and turns his mouth into the biggest “O” it possibly can! It’s rather hilarious. Until we scared the poop out of it. Let’s just say I had to do wash earlier than I had planned. Haha!

At least, I’m done making babies cry in the clinic. I pricked my last thumb on Friday. While it was a great experience getting to see the actual effect of malaria on the lives of people here, there’s only so many times I can tell someone “baba” or sorry, because I made them shout in pain. Though I did enjoy working with the midwife and getting to feel a baby inside a pregnant woman. I especially loved when she let me listen to the heartbeat! I could do that everyday!

On Saturday, we went to Abuadi to paint some of the materials we got forenjoy working with the midwife and getting to feel a baby inside a pregnant woman. I especially loved when she let me liste the WSS project. We’ve already used the money we fundraised to buy the materials and transport them to Abuadi. They delivered the 5,000 and 2,500 liter polytanks to the school along with the gutters, pipes, and filter. Seeing the money already being put into action is fueling our passion for this project more and more. We have identified our next town in which we will be doing interviews again and figuring out how to solve their water issue. But this one is going to turn out being a bigger project, because we were told that the whole village relies on one borehole that doesn’t even work properly. Most people walk far to the nearest stream to get the water they drink and use. They share this stream with cows and any other animals nearby. We are planning on addressing the lack of clean water for the whole town, not just the school, this time. I am excited to begin that project next week!

For me, it’s been hard to realize how much these communities need. The district we’ve been working in doesn’t even have real roads. Most communities drink unsafe, unclean water. And recently, the toilet situation in our own community has come to our attention. We went to see where people go to use the bathroom. Basically, there is an area “in the bush” where they go to squat on a log. So it’s just a huge pit of poop. There are so many flies buzzing around and the smell hit us hard. I had to try not to gag. It was horrifying, but what makes it worse is that there is nothing being done about it.

My heart has taken a beating. Everything I see and experience around me challenges everything I know and believe. I guess in the end the only thing that keeps me grounded is my time with God. And reminding myself that this earth is just a temporary home. One day the last will be first. But the endless smiles, laughter, and “yevos” from the kids reassure that even in this place there is more love, more peace, and more happiness than even some of the richest men will ever know. For now, that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

