GGW (Government Gone Wild)

So, lately there has been a fuel shortage in Ghana.  Major cities and towns are officially out of gas.  The government is freaking out, and the people of the Volta Region gave the chiefs a week long notice before they started protesting.  Also, through discussing with my host family and watching the news I found out that the taxes for water and electricity have risen over 60% in the past year! I could not imagine the uproar that would be caused in America if this happened.  I love seeing the different sides of taxes, government, and healthcare I’ve never seen before.  It’s very interesting to observe another global perspective.  

In other news, it rained last night.  Scratch that, it hurricaned last night.  From 6 PM until 3 AM there was monstrous rain, wind, and lightning.  It was amazing to watch, but it was extremely loud and I wasn’t able to sleep at night.  So, I sat outside on the front steps and watched the massive storm wreak havoc for a while.  It was oddly relaxing.  I finally fell asleep around 3:30.

The project has been going well! We completed some more interviews in Adaklu Waya, performed some more data analysis, and have been delving a little more into the research.  I really love this type of work, and I have seriously reevaluated my life goals (in a good way!) since I’ve been here.  I can’t wait to keep interviewing and learning more about the people here. I think the interviews are great because it’s like a 10 minute window into somebody’s life.  You feel connected, as if you know who they really are–and they welcome this connectedness with warmth and a smile.  

There’s just so much going on that I can’t feel like I can update it all, so I’ll make it short.  1.  We are taking a quick mini-vacation to the coast for the next week.  It will be some well deserved R&R, and I look forward to doing some touristy things.  2. We’ve changed around some stuff with the project in regards to design and which schools we are going to assist. 3. I finally feel really, truly at home here.  I know everyone’s name, I can survive on my own, I have Ghanaian friends, and I’m at the point where if someone speaks slowly and directly at me in Ewe, I can distinguish what they’re saying and respond appropriately.  4. I’m a little sick of being called a yevo.  It was charmingly cute at first when they recognized I was a foreigner, but now when the kids scream it as I walk by it makes me feel as though I’m a visitor, or someone who doesn’t belong.  5.  It’s official. I miss playing frisbee and going to the gym.  Sounds weird, but I miss it a lot. Regardless, still having a great time here though.

Oh, and I finally shaved my beard. Ew.

-Cole F. 

Leave a Reply

