The rest of the week at the clinic was so invigorating. I felt like I was using my interests to help those in need as well as having a superb mentor. It took a while to get used to the less strict ways of Ghanaian healthcare. For instance, I worked a day in the dispensary and the pharmacist allowed me (after a few hours) to read the prescription, gather the drugs, and hand it out. This made me so nervous, especially when she wouldn’t check my work instantly. (I didn’t want to be unethical- no one wants a yevo with no experience to give them drugs!). The next day at the clinic, I was able to use what I learned in the dispensary to assist in the diagnosis room with the PA. He would translate the symptoms and I would be able to come up with the issue and offer my idea of what the treatment should be! The cases were usually quite simple because most people came in with a positive malaria test or a blood pressure of 180/100.

After our week at the clinic, we began our interview process of the HVTI project in which we collected data about the community’s interest in a local vocational school. Hours of work, 150 surveys, 3 translators… Not the most entertaining thing we have done on our African journey, but it was nice to meet new people, especially people who live only a 40 minute walk from our town. The data shows that most people are interested in the school. They want the school to offer courses from electrical engineering, to hairdressing, to bead-making. Hopefully something will happen with all of that work! I did find it interesting though that the jobs most common for youth include farming (obviously) and driving. Many people will park their moto-bikes around the center of the town waiting for people to pay them for a ride to Ho, which is maybe 20-30 minutes from the town- Waya.

This week we will be having an excursion week where were roadtripping Ghana! After practically surviving a hurricane last night (I woke up to our window breaking from the heavy winds), the roads are awful. At one point on our trip to Ho we had to get out of the car and walk a bit because it was too heavy to get past a certain area of mud. It’s actually a hot topic in Ghanaian politics: many chiefs around the Volta region are giving the government another week to form a plan to fix the roads “or else”. But I’m excited to visit Tafi Atome, maybe see my fellow global scholars, and see the history in Cape Coast!

Leave a Reply

