Doxycycline Dreamin’

So, my dreams lately have been pretty weird.  I’ve been able to remember almost all of them, and I’ve been having three or four a night.  And I mean like, very, very vivid and lucid dreams.  I definitely am blaming it on the anti-malarial medication I’ve been taking, but I don’t really mind.  It’s an interesting way to wake up in the morning, and it certainly makes for intriguing breakfast talk.

Speaking of food, I don’t know how many more fried carbohydrates I can eat.  Every meal here consists of some form of starch, drenched in palm oil and fried, with some kind of fishy seasoning, and different spices.  It is good, don’t get me wrong, but I have never craved a crisp, fresh, crunchy pile of vegetables more in my life.  My poor heart just doesn’t like all the fat.

So updates from this past week: 1.  We’ve been working in a clinic and teaching at a primary school. 2. We start construction of our water filter system next week.  3.  We hiked the 3rd highest mountain in Ghana.  4. I gave a breast exam and held a 16-hour old baby.  5. I’m learning more and more Ewe! 6. I’ve started thinking about and planning my capstone paper.  7.  Off duty police tried to arrest our entire car for a traffic violation.

Other than that, life has been pretty great here.  I’ve been adventuring around the village, meeting new people, finding new places, learning more about the culture and the people, and discovering more and more how much I love this country.  I don’t really want to write as much as I did last blog, but I just want to thank every single person who has allowed me to go on this trip.  It has been the single most life-changing experience I’ve ever had, and I couldn’t be more happy with my summer.  I’ve never felt more challenged, more excited, and curious in my life.  So, akpe you guys for helping me get here.  All my friends, colleagues, professors, and mentors who have coached me and assisted me to this point.  You guys are the best.

Oh, and if anyone wants any details about what I’ve been up too, feel free to comment.  I’m gonna go explore Ho’s market and buy some freshly cut atato.  Eto oonye pa! 

-Cole Friedes.

One thought on “Doxycycline Dreamin’

Leave a Reply

