Adventure TIme

Adventure Time

                  Spending the first weekends in the village I’m currently living in made me realize how busy of a lifestyle that I’m used to. It is in a very rural area and you have to travel by motorbike, then trotro for over an hour to get somewhere that there is something to do as in activities. I have been here for 4 weeks and I am going on my 5th book which is a personal record. I have enjoyed my down time but I’d have to say I definitely find more exciting being out and exploring different parts of Ghana. Last weekend we took our first excursion, we travelled to Hohoe and then towards the mountains. We stopped at the entrance to this trail and paid our fees and started on our 45 minute walk through the forest. We were heading to Wli Falls, which is the tallest waterfall in West Africa. While walking through there were coco trees, coffee trees, pineapples growing out of ground and every once awhile we’d stumble upon a small part of a flowing river. As we got closer the noise of the water falling got louder and louder with each step. Out of nowhere you enter a clearing and look up to see the mountain side with this massive amount of water coming over the top.  I was in awe. It was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.

                  We spent the day taking pictures, eating plantain chips and swimming in the freezing water. Some of us even decided to venture underneath the falls. The force of the water coming down  was like a ton of bricks falling from above so that was short lived, but definitely worth the experience of fighting the stinging mist that blasted you as you got closer to the falls.  

Leave a Reply

