My time in Golok, China

It has been over a month since I have been at my host organization as an English teacher. I have really enjoyed teaching English to the girls here. I have became so attached to the girls here that I am not ready to be separated from them. My visa allows me to stay in China for 60 days with multiple entries. Soon I will be going to Hong Kong for a week, and then I will be coming back into China. Lately, I have not been able to sleep at night at the thought of me leaving. I remember when I first came, I wanted to be back home. Now, I want to stay longer, and not go back home. The person who really understands me is Steve Sclar. He told me he felt the same way when he was here five years ago. I am glad Steve came again this year. I have been able to have full English conversations with him. At first I could barely have full English conversations with anyone here at the organization. Except for one the girls, GigaDorma, who speaks a good amount of English. I have been able to hang out with Steve here at the organization. Yeah, I am a lucky Global Scholar.  

I adapted to Tibetan culture very quickly, and I am not ready to indulge into American culture just yet. I am going to miss eating Tsampa (Barley flour, yak butter, cheese, and milk tea) in the mornings with the teachers, babysitter, and the cook. I am going to miss all the beautiful girls at the school, especially those who I have became close to. I am going to miss going to the nun’s room with the Chinese teacher and playing Chinese checkers. I am going to miss waking up and looking out my window to see sky-high mountains, and random snow days. I can go on and on, but I do not want to remind myself how I will no longer be with these people until the next time I come back. I have came to love almost everyone in the organization in such little time. 

One thought on “My time in Golok, China

Leave a Reply

