Day 14

5/28
Here is an update on Ghana- LIFE IS WONDERFUL. Tomorrow will be the two weeks mark of this adventure. Time is flying by and yet the moments never seem go unnoticed. Today was a gift. The headmaster of the primary school appointed me to give a sermon during the school’s assembly. Cannot lie, I was sweating through my t-shirt due to all the nerves. But, the second I stood before the school, I was calm. I read Psalm:148 and shared the love God has for each and everyone of the students before me. Today was a perfect reminder of why my heart longs to be here in Africa.
I smile a lot here, some may think it is abnormal how much I do. I can’t help it- I cherish the very second I open my eyes to the moment I close them, and even then it is hard to fall asleep because of the excitement the next day will bring. A few volunteers and I are implementing an after school program for the children in the village. The village came to a vote and the program is officially called l€ manva (meaning love myself and come in their native language). The overall mission is to give the children many ways to express themselves and to love the person they are. Exercising, art therapy and bible studies (my main projects), theatre, a girls confidence group, and sex education are the areas we are focusing on for this project. Here is something worth mentioning- all the volunteers here are from Florida State. I don’t know about you, but I think it is fate. We all have been initiated into the village by the head chiefs. Basically it was shots before breakfast kind of ceremony! We are all beyond excited to keep the passion for this village once we leave by helping from afar.
Sorry, but I have to go. All I can hear are my sweet students calling my name outside my window. Time to go play!

Leave a Reply

