Departure and Arrival to China

Wow! My flight to China has been the most interesting journey. This showed me how valiant I am in which otherwise I would not have known if it were not for this experience. I departed from my hometown (Tampa, FL) on May 6, 2014 to New York at the John F. Kennedy airport. From New York to China was a 15 hour flight. This was the longest flight I have ever taken which was not as dreadful as I thought it would be. I arrived in Shanghai, China, which is known to be the most modern city in China. From Shanghai, I then took a one hour bus drive to Shanghai’s railway station to take the train to Xining. The train was a 32 hour ride from Shanghai to Xining. At first, I was frightened to take the train due to the fear of getting lost such as not getting off on the right station. My ride on the train was an awesome experience. I met the most nicest Chinese people from Langhou, China. Thankfully, they spoke some English which made my train ride even better because we conversed during the whole ride until they arrived to their station. I learned a great deal about China and Chinese people through our conversations. I am sure they also learned much about the United States and the American culture. If it were not for my encounter with these individuals, I would have been terrified and flustered. Once I arrived to my designated station in Xining, I was welcomed by the director of the partner organization and two young girls. We then drove for eight hours to Darlag where the organization is located. As you can tell, it took me five days to arrive to the organization where I will be interning. Although it was a long journey, I appreciated it because I met incredible individuals along the way which I am now in contact with. I wish I could describe my whole trip to China, but it would take a myriad of pages. I will be more than happy to share them with anyone once I arrive to the United States.   

One thought on “Departure and Arrival to China

Leave a Reply

